Search

How to successfully onboard your team

Working on your group from multiple users and devices is easy. On this post, I will outline a few steps that will hopefully make it easier for your team to start using Groups


The first (obvious) step consists in creating your Group. A "Group" is what holds all your information that can later be shared and worked upon by multiple users.


Groups can have "admins" and "users". Both can make changes to a group locally, but only admins can submit changes to the cloud that get pushed to all other group members. The user that creates a group automatically becomes the first group's "admin". When you press on the "Create" button on the main menu, a form with "Group's Name", "Admin Password", and "User Password" fields is shown. A circle button is also shown at the top that serves to optionally add your group's image.



Group name: Carefully choose a name that's easy to share with other team members. Pay attention to upper and lower case letters as group name searches are case sensitive. For example, if you create a group called "my team" and your colleagues later search for it with the text "My team", the search algorithm won't show your group because of the different lower/upper case "M"


Admin password: Anyone who attempts to join your group will be asked for a password. If they type the "admin" password, they will become a group admin. This will allow them to share any changes they make locally with everyone else via Synchronize Data -> Upload Changes. Make sure to choose a password that's ok to share with other admins (don't choose a personal password).


User password: When users join your group with a "user" password, they are barred from submitting changes via Synchronize Data -> Upload Changes. Note that "users" can still make all the changes they want locally (on their device).


Make sure to remember your user and admin passwords. If you happen to forget them, you can always change them to a new value via Group Settings (existing group members won't need to re-enter new passwords when they are changed)


Once you've created your group, you'll need to ask your team members to (a) install Groups on their device, (b) create a Groups account, and (c) join your group as either "admins" or "users". The Join menu will first ask your team members to search for your group



When tapped, they will be asked for a password. Typing in the "admin" password will result in them becoming admins, and typing in the "user" password will result in them becoming users



Tip: A very effective way to onboard new members who've never used Groups is to create 2 groups: one for training and one for production. This way, you can instruct your new members to first gain confidence in making and sharing changes in your "training" group, and then make the important ones in production

A notification is triggered each time a group member uploads new changes and each time a new member joins your group. A history of all changes made to a group is shown in the "Group history" section. The "Group history" section allows you to see all details of each change. It also gives you the option to "revert" a group to a previous state (by tapping on the red button at bottom of Details view). This can be useful when someone submits wrong or erroneous information.


Once your team has logged into your group, you can start a group conversation by tapping on the "chat" icon and adding all your team members as chat participants. This way, you can work and communicate all within the same app. You can also install the "Events" extension (from the "Marketplace" section) to start a common calendar. This will allow you to set common events and reminders to make sure everyone knows when the next group work session will take place